Music

Without a doubt music has evolved on so many levels and in so many ways. Hip Hop is not the same, R&B, Reggae, Dancehall, Soul, etc. Whatever you listen to now does not compare to the way music used to sound 40 or even 20 ears ago.

More specifically my generation coming out of the 90s.. “90s babies”, grew up on TLC, M.C. Hammer, Brittney Spears, Backstreet Boys, New Edition, Boys II Men, Aliyah, Naughty By Nature, Kriss Kross, LL Cool J, 2 Pac, B.I.G., and honestly the list can go on and on with notable legends who made the 90s what it was. Now we have Lil Wayne, Justin Beiber, Chris Brown, Rihanna, Drake, Beyoncé, Kanye West, Eminem, Adele, Jay Z, Nicki Minaj, Sia, Kendrick Lamar, J. Cole, and Taylor Swift. However, this is not a bad group of artist I just named they are notable and legends in their own right with their extensive number of awards and nominations. But then here come the more recent artists that I feel have created their own lane in the music industry that can’t even be categorized with legends listed above. For instance, Lil Yachty, Lil Uzi Vert, Migos, Travis Scott, Desiigner, Kodak Black, Young Thug, 21 Savage, just to name a few. These are namely hip hop artists, but with their new take on music it makes me question what is hip hop. It has transformed into something that once meant something and was a respect thing into party tunes and BS. I have nothing against party tunes I’m a partier, but what they be talking about, which half the time I don’t understand I also don’t find myself able to relate to it.

music sucks.jpg

Leave a comment